Latest News

Ground-breaking formation of the York Region Festival Alliance

Ontario Trillium Foundation awards $322K grant to support this new alliance.

NEWMARKET – The Ontario Trillium Foundation has awarded a $322K multi-year grant to support an alliance of diverse, multicultural festival organizations in York Region. This new alliance (YRFA) will foster the growth of the festival sector in York Region through the creation and implementation of a robust multicultural festival and experiential tourism strategy that benefits all nine municipalities in the region. York Region, home to over 200 ethnic groups, boasts a vibrant cultural sector that includes a wide range of community-based festivals. The York Region Festival Alliance is a branch of the York Region Arts Council.


The Honourable Michael Chan, Minister of Citizenship, Immigration and International Trade, MPP Markham-Unionville Chairman and CEO, Wayne Emmerson Regional Municipality of York Dr. Ken Ng, Chair Federation of Canadian Chinese in Markham Cathy Morton, Chair York Region Arts Council Nancy Bodi, Director York Region Festival Alliance Suzanne Smoke, First Nations Legacy Pow Wow Ranji Singh, Ranji Singh Foundation Alex Karolyi, Shadowpath Theatre. YRFA Steering Committee: Annabel Slaight, Splash Festival; Denise Sheedy, Eaglewood Folk Festival; Sher St. Kitts, Newmarket Jazz+ Festival; Judy Marshall, Aurora Chamber of Commerce; Tasha Veer, Township of King; Patty Fleetwood, Feast of Fields; Dr. Emmanuel Abara, Arts Richmond Hill; Denise Jones, Jambana; Judi McIntyre, Markham Jazz Festival; Christine Matthews, Markham B.I.A.; Sandi Folkes, CariVaughan; Tim Arnott, Kleinburg Binder Twine; Joan Crosbie, Town of Whitchurch-Stouffville; Shaen Armstrong, Stouffville Strawberry Festival; Mona Babin, Association des francophones de la région de York Inc. (AFRY)

June 16, 2015